April W. Armstrong, MD, MPH Appointed as Chief, Division of Dermatology

The department of medicine (DoM) is pleased to announce that April W. Armstrong, MD, MPH has been appointed as chief of the division of dermatology at UCLA Health and the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA (DGSOM). Dr. Armstrong will be joining the DoM on July 17, 2023. For the past eight years, Dr. Armstrong has served as the associate dean for clinical research at the University of Southern California (USC). Dr. Armstrong has led initiatives to improve research infrastructure and streamline processes to provide an efficient environment for research. She also holds two prominent leadership positions at USC, serving as vice chair in the department of dermatology and director of clinical research support at the Southern California Clinical and Translational Research Institute.

Dr. Armstrong is an internationally renowned dermatologist and clinical researcher in inflammatory skin diseases including psoriasis and atopic dermatitis. She is a federally funded investigator whose research focuses on (1) evaluating novel systemic and topical therapies for inflammatory skin diseases, (2) identifying treatment goals and comorbidities associated with skin diseases, and (3) increasing patient access using innovative, technology-enabled healthcare delivery methods. Dr. Armstrong has conducted over 150 clinical trials and published over 400 articles in scientific journals. Her research has been supported by the NIH, AHRQ, PCORI, Dermatology Foundation, and the National Psoriasis Foundation.

Dr. Armstrong is also a passionate educator, having mentored numerous medical students, residents, and postdoctoral research fellows. She has received institutional and national teaching awards for her educational efforts.

Dr. Armstrong has a long history of service to the medical profession on a national and international level. She serves as a board member of the American Academy of Dermatology, chair of the medical board at the National Psoriasis Foundation, co-president of the Group for Research and Assessment of Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis (GRAPPA), councilor for the International Eczema Council and International Psoriasis Council, and a board member for the International Dermatology Outcome Measures and the California Society of Dermatology and Dermatological Surgery (CalDerm). She is also an editorial board member of JAMA Dermatology and had also served on the editorial boards of JAAD and other journals. Dr. Armstrong is past president of the American DermatoEpidemiology Network and Sacramento Valley Dermatology Society.

Dr. Armstrong obtained her medical degree from Harvard Medical School and completed dermatology residency at Harvard. She also obtained a Master of Public Health degree from Harvard School of Public Health. Prior to University of Southern California, Dr. Armstrong served as vice chair and director of clinical trials and outcomes units at the University of California Davis and later at the University of Colorado. 

We look forward to working with Dr. Armstrong to continue advancing the missions and goals of the division of dermatology and the department of medicine.

We extend our gratitude to the members of the search committee listed below, who dedicated significant time and effort in the reviewing the candidate pool, interviewing semi-finalists and identifying finalists for this important leadership role. 

  • Search Committee Chair: Judith Currier MD, MSc
    Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases 
    Professor, Medicine 
  • Steven Bensinger, VMD, PhD
    Sherie and Donald Morrison Chair in Immunology
    Professor, Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics
    Professor, Molecular and Medical Pharmacology
    Director, UCLA Lipidomics Laboratory
    Member, Immunology, Inflammation, Infection, & Transplantation Theme (I3T)
  • Evelyn Curls, MD, MBA
    Regional Lead Physician UCLA DOM South Bay, 
    Downtown LA Community Practices
    Assistant Clinical Professor
    Diplomate, American Board of Internal Medicine
  • Teresa Soriano, MD
    Health Sciences Clinical Professor
    Director of Dermatologic Surgery
  • Philip Scumpia, MD, PhD
    Assistant Professor in Residence
    Medical Dermatology - VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System
  • Christina Charles-Schoeman, MD, MS
    Chief, Division of Rheumatology
    Department of Medicine
  • Stephen T. Smale, PhD
    Distinguished Professor, Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics
    Vice Dean for Research, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
  • Owen N. Witte, MD
    University Professor
    President's Chair in Developmental Immunology
    Founding Director Emeritus, Broad Stem Cell Research Center, UCLA
    Departments of Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics and Molecular and Medical Pharmacology
    David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
  • Lorraine Young, MD
    Emeritus Professor of Clinical Medicine

Related Posts