Drs. Currier, Mangione, Shivkumar elected to Association of American Physicians

The department of medicine congratulates Dr. Judith S. CurrierDr. Carol M. Mangione, and Dr. Kalyanam Shivkumar on their election to the Association of American Physicians (AAP), a distinction awarded to only 70 physicians per year who have demonstrated outstanding credentials in basic or translational biomedical research. We are proud to work alongside these visionary leaders who conduct groundbreaking research, mentor numerous trainees towards excellence, and inspire us to be rigorous in our pursuits. Their achievements in medicine and research include:

JUDITH S. CURRIER, MD, MSc, Division Chief of Infectious Diseases, director, Clinical AIDS Research and Education (CARE) Center, professor of medicine in the division of infectious diseases. Dr. Currier's contributions have improved the care for people with HIV. She played a leadership role in clinical trials that defined when prophylaxis for opportunistic infections could be stopped, identified strategies to optimize antiretroviral therapy in adults and pregnant women, and identified risks and interventions to reduce long-term complications of HIV. Over the past two years she has played a leadership role in the implementation of clinical trials to evaluate new therapies for COVID-19.

Judith S. Currier, MD, MSc

CAROL M. MANGIONE, MD, MSPH, FACP, Division Chief of General Internal Medicine and Health Services Research, Barbara A. Levey, MD & Gerald S. Levey, MD endowed chair in medicine at the UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine, professor at the UCLA Fielding School of Public Health. Dr. Mangione is a pioneer in understanding how system-level interventions, benefit design, and cost sharing affect quality and outcomes for persons with diabetes. She has identified system and patient-level approaches that may mitigate health disparities for racial/ethnic minorities, older persons, and people with chronic diseases, or visual disability.

Carol M. Mangione, MD, MSPH, FACP

KALYANAM SHIVKUMAR, MD, PhD, Director, UCLA Cardiac Arrhythmia Center & Electrophysiology Programs, director and chief, UCLA Interventional CV Programs & Cardiac Catheterization Laboratories, professor of medicine in cardiology, radiology and bioengineering. Dr. Shivkumar is a physician scientist specializing in interventional cardiac electrophysiology. His research examines fundamental aspects of cardiac neural control. He has pioneered the field of clinical neurocardiology and the translation of neuromodulation therapies to the clinical setting. He has also promoted the concept of the ‘internet of the human body’ to highlight key biological principles underlying control of all the organs by the nervous system.

Kalyanam Shivkumar, MD, PhD

View pictures from the AAP annual meeting and banquet celebrating the honorees HERE.

About the Association of American Physicians

The AAP is an honorary medical society founded in 1885 by the Canadian physician Sir William Osler and six other distinguished physicians of his era for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” The AAP includes about 1200 active members and 700 emeritus and honorary members. Members of the AAP have included Nobel laureates, and members of the United States National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine. Living members of the AAP who have also been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine include Michael S. Brown, Joseph L. Goldstein, William G. Kaelin, Jr, Robert J. Lefkowitz, Barry J. Marshall, Stanley B. Prusiner, Peter Ratcliffe, and Gregg L. Semenza. For more information, visit aap-online.org

Current UCLA-affiliated AAP members include:

First NameLast NameDivision
Evan DaleAbelDepartment of Medicine
JohnAdamsOrthopedic Surgery
GregoryBrentDepartment of Medicine
RobertBrookDepartment of Medicine
S. ThomasCarmichaelNeurology
JudithCurrierDepartment of Medicine
JohnEdwards Jr.Department of Medicine, Harbor-UCLA
JoannElmoreDepartment of Medicine
AlanFogelmanDepartment of Medicine
TomasGanzDepartment of Medicine
BevraHahnDepartment of Medicine
JeromeHershmanDepartment of Medicine, VA
H.KoefflerDepartment of Medicine, Cedars-Sinai
JoelKoppleDepartment of Medicine, Harbor-UCLA
DeborahKrakowObstetrics and Gynecology
CarolMangioneDepartment of Medicine
RobertModlinDepartment of Medicine
PaulShekelleDepartment of Medicine, VA
KalyanamShivkumarDepartment of Medicine
RonaldSwerdloffDepartment of Medicine, Harbor-UCLA
MichaelTeitellJonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center
Peter TontonozPathology & Laboratory Medicine
ChristinaWangDepartment of Medicine, Harbor-UCLA
StephenYoungDepartment of Medicine

Related Posts